AGA Leadership


AGA’s ability to implement its strategic plan and effectively serve its members is due in large part to the work of its committees. AGA’s committee structure enables volunteer members to play an active role in the association’s decision-making process. 

Want to get more involved with AGA? View all of our current opportunities.


Chair: John M. Carethers, MD, AGAF
Staff Liaison: Stacie Miller

Chair: Megan A. Adams, MD, JD, MSc
Staff Liaison: Chris Bluhm

Chair: Shahnaz Sultan, MD, MHSc, AGAF
Staff Liaison: Stephanie Demian
Chair: Andrew Y. Wang, MD, AGAF
Staff Liaison: Nelly Atarodian
Chair: Ibironke Oduyebo, MD, MS
Staff Liaison: Celena NuQuay
Chair: Christopher E. Forsmark, MD, AGAF
Staff Liaison: Maura Davis
Chair: Megan A. Adams, MD, JD, MSc
Staff Liaison: Stacie Miller
Chair: Lawrence S. Kim, MD, AGAF
Staff Liaison: Chris Bluhm
Chair: Rotonya M. Carr, MD
Staff Liaison: Kathleen Teixeira
Chair: M. Bishr Omary, MD, PhD, AGAF
Staff Liaison: Erin Reyes
Chair: Steven L. Carpenter, MD, AGAF
Staff Liaison: Sarah Heckman
Chair: Dawn L. Francis, MD, MHS, AGAF
Staff Liaison: Chantal Fremont
Chair: Kim E. Barrett, PhD, AGAF
Staff Liaison: Lindsey Brounstein
Chair: David A. Leiman, MD, MSHP
Staff Liaison: David Godzina
Chair: William A. Faubion, MD
Staff Liaison: Nick Tomeo
Chair: Clara Abraham, MD
Staff Liaison: Nick Tomeo
Chair: Peter S. Liang, MD, MPH
Staff Liaison: Carol Brown
Chair: Sharmila Anandasabapathy, MD, AGAF
Staff Liaison: Carol Brown

The AGA Governing Board adopted a policy on disclosure of potential conflict of interest to minimize conflicts of interest at all levels of AGA leadership to secure both institutional credibility and to protect AGA and individuals involved in governance. The policy applies to every person appointed or elected to leadership positions, and you should be familiar with it prior to applying to serve as an AGA volunteer.