Advocacy & Policy


AGA PAC is the voluntary member, bipartisan political arm of AGA. As the only PAC dedicated to gastroenterology, our mission is to increase our members’ presence on Capitol Hill and support legislators who protect the needs of GI patients and health care professionals.

Decisions made by lawmakers in Washington, D.C. today may affect how you provide patient care for years to come. Fortunately, you have a voice on Capitol Hill through the AGA political action committee (PAC), which advocates for policies that support GI clinicians and researchers and access to high-quality care.

AGA PAC supports AGA’s government affairs agenda by contributing to the campaigns of political candidates — regardless of his/her party affiliation — whose public policy priorities align with our own.

AGA PAC is dedicated to increasing our members’ presence on Capitol Hill and support legislators who protect the needs of GI patients and health care professionals.

We are fighting against prior authorization policiesurging Medicare to eliminate cost sharing for screening colonoscopy when a polyp is removed and requesting an appeals process when your patients are subjected to step therapy “fail first” insurance protocols.

We are working with regulators to create specialty-focused payment models under the Quality Payment Program so you can participate in advanced APMs that more accurately reflect and account for the type of patient care you provide. 

We are advocating for additional NIH funding to increase the quality of life and life expectancy of your patients with GI cancers. In 2016, NIAID and NIH awarded AGA Institute with a five-year grant to launch the AGA Fecal Microbiota Transplantation National Registry

Only AGA members in the U.S. are eligible to donate to the PAC. One hundred percent of contributions go directly to supporting political candidates — all administrative costs are paid by AGA. A bipartisan panel of AGA member gastroenterologists review and approve all candidates supported by the PAC.  

  • Steven L. Carpenter, MD, AGAF, MACP, Chair
  • Peter Scott Margolis, MD, AGAF, Chair Elect
  • Lawrence S. Kim, MD, AGAF, Treasurer
  • Naresh T. Gunaratnam, MD, AGAF, Governing Board Liaison
  • Dale R. Bachwich, MD
  • Jeffrey S. Crippin, MD
  • Laurel R. Fisher, MD, AGAF
  • Sonia S. Kupfer, MD, AGAF
  • Calvin Qian Pan, MD, MACP, FACG, FAASLD
  • Arpan Arun Patel, MD
  • Maged Rizk, MD, AGAF
  • Richard B. Robbins, MD
  • Bertha E. Toriz, MD
  • Negar Yaghooti, MD
  • Navneet Buttar, Staff Liaison

For more information about AGA PAC, review our FAQ’s resource or contact Navneet Buttar, AGA’s government and political affairs manager, at