Meetings & Learning

Maintenance of Certification

AGA will continue to push for an MOC process that is truly educational and relates to our personal subspecialty practice.

The latest MOC development

The traditional 10-year MOC exam will still be available to any diplomate who prefers this option.

ABIM is extending deadlines for all Maintenance of Certification (MOC) requirements through Dec. 31, 2022. AGA and the GI societies advocated that ABIM take this action, which means that no one will lose certification if they aren’t able to complete a requirement this year.

AGA's principles for MOC reform

  • We support ending the high-stakes, every 10-year exam.
  • We do not support closed-book assessments as they do not represent the current realities of medicine in the digital age.
  • We support the principles of lifelong learning as evidenced by ongoing CME activities, rather than lifelong testing.
  • We support the concept that, for the many diplomates who specialize in certain areas of gastroenterology and hepatology, MOC should not need to include high-stakes assessments of areas where the diplomate may not practice.

MOC Requirements

See the summary of MOC changes listed below. The ABIM website can provide you with more detailed information on the changing requirements and your personalized MOC status report. Log in to to review your MOC status report and see your specific program requirements.

Strategies for exam preparation: acquire a strong base of medical knowledge and practice answering board-style multiple choice questions.

The option for a 2-year assessment, the Knowledge Check-In (KCI), will be available in 2021.  If you opt into the KCI, you do not have to take the 10 year long-form exam. Learn more about the KCI on our MOC FAQ page.


Points earned for this activity count toward the 100 MOC points needed for the five-year requirement. Any certified MOC activity qualifies for this requirement.


Beginning in 2019, gastroenterologists have the option to enter into a 2-year testing scenario in place of the traditional 10 year long-form exam. The GI KCI is available on March 5 or 6, 2021, and on Oct. 9 or 12, 2021. Registration begins Dec. 1, 2020.

Meeting MOC Requirements

How you need to meet MOC requirements depends on when your current certification is set to expire. Read below for what you need to do in order to stay current.

ABIM will honor all certifications already issued, and diplomates who received certifications that are valid indefinitely will remain certified (assuming you hold a current and valid license). Those who are grandfathered will not be required to take the exam to remain certified.

However, regardless of when you were initially certified, ABIM and ABMS will begin reporting whether or not physicians are “Participating” or “Not Participating in MOC”. In order to remain meeting MOC requirements you must take the following steps:

  • 1. Sign in to to activate your program.
  • 2. Meet the point requirements of the MOC program.
  • 3. Take and pass the MOC exam in Gastroenterology by Dec. 31, 2023.

Grandfathers who miss any of the MOC program requirements will be reported as Certified, Not Meeting MOC Requirements. They will not be reported as Not Certified for failing to meet MOC requirements.

You will continue to be certified for the length of your current certification(s), assuming you hold a current and valid license.

Log in to and visit your MOC Status Report to learn your specific MOC program requirements.

To meet MOC Requirements you will need to:

  • 1. Enroll in MOC if you have not already done so. Log in to and enroll by indicating which certification(s) you choose to maintain.
  • 2. Earn points during the two- and five-year milestone cycles, beginning in 2014. Unfortunately, any points you earned prior to Jan. 1, 2014, will not count toward maintaining certifications.
  • 3. Pass a secure exam every 10 years.