AGA Family of Websites:

Advocacy & Policy

Support the PAC

AGA PAC gives gastroenterologists a greater presence on Capitol Hill and an effective voice on discussions that affect the science and practice of gastroenterology including prior authorization and step therapy.


With health care at the forefront of Congress’ policy agenda, it’s imperative that GIs have a seat at the table when health policy decisions are being made on Capitol Hill. Fortunately, you have a voice through the AGA political action committee (PAC).

AGA PAC’s mission is to increase our members’ presence on Capitol Hill and support congressional candidates who protect the needs of GI patients and health care professionals. AGA PAC supports legislators who make decisions on issues that can impact the future of the specialty and helps build relationships with new candidates, especially physician candidates, who could be future champions of gastroenterology.

AGA PAC is the only political action committee supported by a national gastroenterology society.

AGA PAC is a key part of AGA’s advocacy, amplifying AGA’s work on the Hill and AGA members’ grassroots advocacy to advance our priorities. We are working to protect the future of your practice, your research and your livelihood including:

  • Protecting patients’ access to care
  • Obtaining reasonable Medicare reimbursement rates.
  • Increasing federal funding for biomedical research.
  • Easing regulatory burdens on gastroenterologists.

AGA PAC is only open to full AGA members in the U.S. If you’re a nurse practitioner, physician assistant or practice manager and want to learn more about AGA PAC, contact Sarah Heckman.

Board of advisors

A board of directors, led by AGA PAC Chair Peter Scott Margolis, administers the AGA PAC. Appointed by the AGA Governing Board, the AGA PAC Board carefully researches key members of Congress who are instrumental in formulating health care legislation and candidates who could be future friends of gastroenterology. After careful review and discussion, the committee creates a contribution strategy and decides which candidates should receive the support of the AGA PAC.

The board ensures that the AGA PAC maintains the highest ethical standards and adheres to federal election laws governing contributions. This strong leadership and high-level stewardship ensures that your contributions are spent in the most effective manner.

Peter S. Margolis, MD, AGAF

Peter Scott Margolis, MD, AGAF

Naresh Gunaratnam Headshot

Naresh T. Gunaratnam, MD, AGAF
Governing Board Liaison

Sadeea Abbasi Headshot

Sadeea Abbasi, MD, PhD

Nadeem A. Baig, MD

Jeffrey S. Crippin, MD

Laurel R. Fisher, MD, AGAF

Sonia S. Kupfer, MD, AGAF

Arpan Arun Patel, MD

Richard B. Robbins, MD

Nihar Shah Headshot


Toriz Headshot

Bertha E. Toriz, MD

Negar Yaghooti, MD

AGA Institute is a separate entity from AGA and does not participate in political activities nor financially support AGA PAC.