AGA Family of Websites:

AGA Institute Ethics Committee

This Organizational Statement was last revised by the AGA Institute Governing Board, (17) VOTED, July 2013.


To support the AGA Institute’s core value to promote the highest standards of professionalism and ethics in the field of gastroenterology by administering AGA Institute’s Conflict of Interest Policies and educating members on issues in medical ethics.

Committee Functions

  • Implements relevant strategic directions from the Strategic Plan assigned to the committee; reviews the Strategic Plan to determine new and better ways to achieve association goals.
  • Provides input on strategic trends and opportunities and suggests adjustments to the Strategic Plan for the chair to communicate to the AGA Institute Leadership Cabinet.
  • Administers the Policy on Disclosure of Potential Conflicts of Interest and the Annual Disclosure Statement to all nominees, committee, task force, editorial board and governing board members.
  • Reviews potential conflicts of interest and recommends appropriate action.
  • Develops educational programs to educate members about ethical issues associated with the practice of gastroenterology.
  • Develops policy recommendations on ethical issues impacting GI practice.
  • Performs other functions as assigned by the governing board.

Committee Structure

The committee is comprised of six members (including a chair), plus a trainee member. selected based on their interest and expertise in medical ethics. Members should be representative of a variety of backgrounds (i.e., academics, research, private practice, and industry) to balance the discussions of the committee. A member of the governing board (who shall not count against the maximum membership) shall serve as the liaison to the committee and shall attend all committee meetings; additional members of the governing board (who shall not count against the maximum membership) may be assigned as team members to the committee but are not intended to attend any committee meetings. A chair-elect (who shall not count against the maximum membership) shall be appointed one year before the end of the term of the chair.


The committee is authorized to hold two face-to-face meetings per year, one in September and one at Digestive Disease Week®, and teleconferences as needed.


  • Megan A. Adams, MD, JD, MSc (chair)
  • Vijaya Rao, MD (chair-elect)
  • John I. Allen, MD, MBA, AGAF (governing board liaison)
  • John Scot Aita, MD
  • David Drew, PhD
  • Aja McCutchen, MD
  • Sheldon Sloan, MD
  • Mena Boules, MD
  • Anh Nguyen, MD
  • Ellen Stein, MD, AGAF