AGA Family of Websites:

AGA Institute Quality Committee

This Organizational Statement was last revised by the Governing Board, July 2019.


The AGA Institute Quality Committee will develop new and revise existing quality measures for gastroenterology and hepatology, with the goals of helping to define high-quality care, and assuring the relevance and positive impact of AGA’s measures. The quality committee will also support quality improvement initiatives among members and serve as an amplifying voice for members promoting high-value care. Finally, the committee will promote development of additional programs within the AGA Institute related to quality improvement.

Committee Structure

The committee will consist of 14 members (including a chair). The chairs of the AGA Institute Practice Management and Economics Committee and the AGA Institute Clinical Guidelines Committee (who shall not count against the maximum membership) shall be ex-officio members of the committee. A governing board member with knowledge about performance measurement (who shall not count against the maximum membership) shall serve as the governing board’s liaison to the committee and shall attend all committee meetings; additional members of the governing board (who shall not count against the maximum membership) may be assigned as team members to the committee but are not intended to attend any committee meetings. A chair-elect (who shall not count against the maximum membership) shall be appointed one year before the end of the term of the chair.

Appointment terms of all committee members shall be for two years, with the opportunity to be renewed for an additional year based on attendance and performance. One-third of the maximum terms shall expire annually.

The committee chair is authorized to create small, temporary subgroups consisting of members and nonmembers of the committee to address specific issues within the committee’s mission. Costs of all such subgroups must be included in the committee’s approved budget. 

Special Qualifications, Committee Chair

A physician who:

  • Has knowledge and experience in the management of patients with digestive diseases.
  • Understands performance measure concepts and issues.
  • Understands alignment of patient-centered care, performance measurement and quality improvement, and value-based payment models.
  • Understands development of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
  • Has previously served on an AGA Institute committee, task force or in Clinical Practice Section activities.

Special Qualifications, Committee Members

  • Members should have expertise in the development, implementation, evaluation and/or testing of performance measures.
  • At least three committee members should be from private practice.
  • At least one member with health services research methodology expertise.
  • At least two members with quality improvement experience.
  • One member with ACO, health care administration and/or managed care experience.
  • At least one member with expertise in health information technology is desired.

Committee Functions

In carrying out its mission, the committee will:

  • Work closely with the AGA Institute Clinical Guidelines Committee to develop quality measures from AGA guidelines, where appropriate.
  • Support AGA staff and collaborate with other AGA committees in efforts to operationalize quality measures in practice.
  • Serve as a liaison to various task forces and national quality initiatives related to development and implementation of quality measures and improvement relevant to gastroenterology practice.
  • Provide input on strategic trends and opportunities and suggest adjustments to the Strategic Plan for the chair to communicate to the AGA Institute Leadership Cabinet.
  • Perform other functions as assigned by the Governing Board.


The committee is authorized to hold two face-to-face meetings per year, one in September and one at Digestive Disease Week®, and teleconferences throughout the year as needed.


  • Jennifer K. Maratt, MD (chair)
  • Tanya Bruckel, MD
  • David Fudman, MD
  • Deepak Gopal, MD, AGAF
  • Sachin Goyal, MD
  • David Hudesman, MD, AGAF
  • Kenneth W. Hung, MD
  • Cynthia Wun-ping Ko, MD, MS
  • Jacob Kurlander, MD
  • Kristle Lynch, MD
  • Lindsay Meurer, MD
  • Frederick Peng, MD (trainee member)
  • Siddharth Singh, MD (ex-officio)
  • Alexandra Strauss, MD
  • Nice Toriz, MD, AGA (governing board liaison)
  • Adam Weizman, MD