AGA Family of Websites:

Meet the AGA Institute Council!

Learn more about the 27 volunteers who plan AGA programming at DDW® each year.
Meet the AGA Institute Council_eDigest
Meet the AGA Institute Council_eDigest

What happens when you get 27 GIs in a room? More than 200 AGA sessions are planned for Digestive Disease Week® (DDW) 2023!

The AGA Institute Council is made up of elected representatives from 13 special interest groups, or sections, and is responsible for AGA’s education program at DDW. You can check out council session highlights, along with other hot topics and our partnerships around the world, in the DDW Preliminary Program.

We’re sending a big thanks to council leadership, councillors and reviewers for putting together an outstanding program this year; one that clearly highlights how AGA is empowering clinicians and researchers worldwide to improve digestive health.

  • Basic & Clinical Intestinal Disorders
    Colleen Kelly, MD, AGAF, Chair
    Beth A. McCormick, PhD, Vice Chair
  • Cellular & Molecular Gastroenterology
    Asma Nusrat, MD, Chair
    Michelle A. Battle, PhD, Vice Chair
  • Clinical Practice
    Gary W. Falk, MD, MS, AGAF, Chair
    Aasma Shaukat, MD, MPH, AGAF, Vice Chair
  • Endoscopy, Technology & Imaging
    Irving Waxman, MD, Chair
    Prasad G. Iyer, MD, AGAF, Vice Chair
  • Esophageal, Gastric & Duodenal Disorders
    Steven F. Moss, MBBS, AGAF, Chair
    Sachin B. Wani, MD, AGAF, Vice Chair
  • Gastrointestinal Oncology
    Juanita L. Merchant, MD, PhD, Chair
    Elena M. Stoffel, MD, AGAF, Vice Chair
  • Immunology, Microbiology & Inflammatory
    Bowel Diseases
    Fernando Velayos, MD, AGAF, Chair
    Ashwin Ananthakrishnan, MPH, MBBS, Vice Chair
  • Liver & Biliary
    Gyongyi Szabo, MD, PhD, AGBAF, Chair
    Ashwani K. Singal, MD, MS, FACGB, FAASLD, AGAF, Vice Chair
  • Microbiome & Microbial Therapy
    Purna Kashyap, MBBS, AGBAF, Chair
    Suzanne Devkota, PhD, Vice Chair
  • Neurogastroenterology & Motility
    Adil E. Bharucha, MD, MBBS, AGAF, Chair
    Shanthi Srinivasan, MD, AGAF, Vice Chair
  • Obesity, Metabolism & Nutrition
    Andres Acosta, MD, PhD, Chair
    Rohit Kohli, MD, Vice Chair
  • Pancreatic Disorders
    C. Mel Wilcox, MD, Chair
    Vikesh Singh, MD, MSc, Vice Chair
  • Pediatric Gastroenterology & Developmental Biology
    Neera Gupta, MD, MAS, Chair
    Anne Elizabeth Zemper, PhD, Vice Chair
AGA scientific programming at DDW is developed by
AGA Institute Council

AGA clinical guidance

Find the latest evidence-based recommendations for treating your patients.