AGA Family of Websites:

Congrats to these five AGA members

We’re proud to share the news of two AGA members elected to the prestigious National Academy of Medicine and three honored with the 2020 Sherman Prize.

Congratulations to AGA members Judy H. Cho, MD, and B. Mark Evers, MD, who were recently elected to the National Academy of Medicine.

Judy H. Cho, MD, professor of Medicine at Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York City, for “establishing that uncommon, loss-of-function variants in the microbial-sensing domain of NOD2 confer risk for Crohn’s disease, and identifying a loss-of-function allele in the IL-23 receptor that protects against Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis, leading to new, approved therapies.”

B. Mark Evers, MD, physician in chief of oncology service at University of Kentucky Healthcare, for “his expertise on intestinal hormones and hormonal arcades in oncogenesis. His seminal insights defined the role of gut hormones on normal physiology and metabolism, pioneering innovative understanding of neuroendocrine cell biology and the role of neurohormonal pathways in the development and progression of neuroendocrine tumors.”


Being selected to the Academy is one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.

In addition, the 2020 Sherman Prize was awarded to the following three AGA members:

David Rubin, MD, AGAF, chief, section of gastroenterology, hepatology and nutrition at University of Chicago Medicine, for his “renown in the IBD community as a brilliant clinician, creative researcher, tireless advocate and trailblazing educator.”

Gary Wu, MD, professor of medicine at University of Pennsylvania, Perelman School of Medicine, for “pioneering the study of the gut microbiome in IBD, publishing seminal research on the relationship between diet and the microbiome — enabling multiple areas of research into dietary interventions for IBD.“

Jessica Allegretti, MD, MPH, director of clinical trials at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, as a “highly regarded expert in the field of fecal microbiota transplantation (FMT) and microbiome therapeutics, establishing the therapy as an effective treatment in IBD patients with recurrent C. difficile

Presented by the Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation, the Sherman Prize is awarded to experts in the field of Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis who have exhibited their commitment to advancing inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) care and have dedicated their careers to overcome these diseases.

Please join our president Bishr Omary in congratulating these honorees in the AGA Community.

AGA clinical guidance

Find the latest evidence-based recommendations for treating your patients.