AGA Family of Websites:

Congratulations to our 2023 Research Mentor Award recipients

These eight members are being recognized as outstanding mentors in their specific area of research.
2023 Research Mentor Awardees
2023 Research Mentor Awardees

We’re excited to announce this year’s recipients of the 2023 AGA Institute Council Section Research Mentor Awards. The Research Mentor Award acknowledges the achievements of AGA members who serve the gastroenterology and hepatology community as outstanding mentors in research. 

We look forward to celebrating these esteemed members during their respective section plenary sessions at Digestive Disease Week® (DDW) 2023!

Picture of Elena Verdu, MD, PhD

Elena Verdu, MD, PhD

Section: Basic & Clinical Intestinal Disorders (BCID)

Picture of Douglas J. Robertson, MD, MPH, AGAF

Douglas J. Robertson, MD, MPH, AGAF

Section: Clinical Practice (CP)

Picture of Amitabh Chak, MD, MASGE

Amitabh Chak, MD, MASGE

Section: Endoscopy, Technology & Imaging (ETI)

Picture of Francis Chan, MD

Francis Chan, MD

Section: Esophageal, Gastric & Duodenal Disorders (EGD)

Picture of Sapna Syngal, MD, MPH

Sapna Syngal, MD, MPH

Section: Gastrointestinal Oncology (GIONC)

Picture of Justin Sonnenburg, PhD

Justin Sonnenburg, PhD

Section: Microbiome & Microbial Therapy (MMT)

Picture of Satish Rao, MD, PhD, FRCP, AGAF

Satish Rao, MD, PhD, FRCP, AGAF

Section: Neurogastroenterology & Motility (NGM)

Picture of Santhi Swaroop Vege, MD, MACG, AGAF, FACP

Santhi Swaroop Vege, MD, MACG, AGAF, FACP

Section: Pancreatic Disorders (PAN)

AGA clinical guidance

Find the latest evidence-based recommendations for treating your patients.