AGA Family of Websites:

Annual recognition awards

Nominate an outstanding mentor or colleague for AGA’s prestigious awards, including the Julius Friedenwald Medal and the William Beaumont Prize in Gastroenterology.

What does it take to deserve recognition in the field of gastroenterology? Being an exceptional mentor, an investigator who has made major contributions to advance care or perhaps a clinician who exemplifies leadership.


Each year, AGA honors members for their outstanding contributions. Nominations are now being accepted for AGA’s prestigious Recognition Prizes and the AGA Institute Council Section Research Mentor Award.


The deadline to submit nominations is 5 p.m. ET, on Sept. 7, 2018. Please note the earlier deadline than in previous years. Recipients will be recognized during Digestive Disease Week® 2019. When nominating, please consider diversity of nominees (e.g. gender, nationality, career level, etc.).


2017 Gastrointestinal Oncology Section Research Mentor Award


2017 Gastrointestinal Oncology Section Research Mentor Award recipient, Jun Yu, MD, PhD, AGAF, is pictured with Rhonda F. Souza, MD, AGAF and John P. Lynch, MD, PhD. 


AGA Institute Council Section Research Mentor Award (RMA)

Awarded within each of the 13 AGA Institute Council sections, the RMA acknowledges AGA members for their achievements as outstanding mentors in a specific area of research. Both clinical and basic research mentors are accepted, though the Neurogastroenterology & Motility section will be looking specifically for a basic science research mentor this year.


Looking for candidate suggestions? Consult the list of previous AGA Institute Council leaders who are eligible for an RMA nomination.


AGA Recognition Prizes

    • Julius Friedenwald Medal recognizes an individual who has contributed significantly to AGA and has made lifelong contributions to the field of gastroenterology. This is the highest honor bestowed upon an AGA member. 
    • William Beaumont Prize in Gastroenterology recognizes a senior investigator who has made a major contribution(s) that has significantly advanced care of patients with digestive diseases through clinical or translational research. 
    • Distinguished Achievement Award in Basic Science recognizes a senior investigator who has made major accomplishments in basic research that have significantly advanced the science and/or practice of any gastrointestinal discipline, to include hepatology.


    • Distinguished Clinician Awards recognize two individuals who have exemplified leadership and excellence in the practice of gastroenterology; one awardee in private practice and one in clinical academic practice.


2018 Distinguished Achievement Award


2018 Distinguished Achievement Award in Basic Science recipient T. Jake Liang, MD, AGAF (right) with 2016 Julius Friedenwald Medal recipient C. Richard Boland, MD, AGAF (left) at the 2018 Research and Recognition Awards Cocktail Reception at Digestive Disease Week®.


AGA clinical guidance

Find the latest evidence-based recommendations for treating your patients.