AGA Family of Websites:

AGA welcomes new governing board members

We're thrilled to announce our newest leaders: four distinguished names associated with mentorship, innovation and excellence in the field.

M. Bishr Omary, MD, PhD, AGAF, chair of the AGA Nominating Committee, is pleased to announce that Maria Abreu, MD, AGAF, joins the presidential line up for AGA.

Vice President

Picture of Maria T. Abreu, MD, AGAF

Maria T. Abreu, MD, AGAF

Director, Crohn's and Colitis Center
University of Miami, Miller School of Medicine

Maria T. Abreu, MD, AGAF, has more than 20 years of leadership experience in basic, translational and clinical research and mentoring. She is AGA’s current Councillor At-Large, past chair of the AGA Institute Council, and an AGA Institute Council Section Research Mentor Award recipient (2020) for the IMIBD section. Dr. Abreu is also a recipient of the 2019 Sherman Prize by The Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation that recognizes outstanding achievements in IBD.

Read her bio from the University of Miami.

The nominating committee also appointed the following slate of councillors which is subject to membership vote.

At-Large Councillor

Picture of Kim Barrett, PhD, AGAF

Kim Barrett, PhD, AGAF

Vice Dean for Research
UC Davis School of Medicine

Kim Barrett, PhD, AGAF, is the current chair of the AGA Publications Committee, former chair of the AGA Ethics and Audit Committees, and served twice as director of the Academic Skills Workshop. She was recognized with AGA’s top research award, the AGA Distinguished Achievement Award in Basic Science (2021).

Her research interests have centered on the physiology and pathophysiology of the intestinal epithelium and their relevance to inflammatory bowel diseases and diarrheal diseases, and have resulted in more than 300 publications.

Read her bio from UC Davis.

Councillor for Development and Growth

Picture of Lawrence Kosinski, MD, MBA, AGAF

Lawrence Kosinski, MD, MBA, AGAF

Chief Medical Officer

A serial entrepreneur and thought leader in the world of value-based payment, Larry Kosinski, MD, MBA, AGAF, currently serves as chief medical officer of SonarMD, the leading value-based care coordination solution for complex chronic diseases. He founded SonarMD in 2014 to make it easier for specialists and patients to work together to manage symptomatic chronic illness and prevent clinical deterioration, improving health outcomes and lowering the cost of care. 

In 2021, Dr. Kosinski was selected for his expertise in value-based payment to serve on CMS’ Physician-Focused Payment Model Technical Advisory Committee and help develop bold, new Medicare payment models.

Read his bio from the SonarMD website.

Education & Training Councillor

Picture of Sheryl Pfeil, MD, AGAF

Sheryl Pfeil, MD, AGAF

Medical Director and Professor of Clinical Medicine, Clinical Skills Education and Assessment Center
The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center

Sheryl Pfeil, MD, AGAF, has been an AGA member for 30 years, serving on the Education and Training Committee, as past chair of the Academy of Educators, as co-chair of the AGA Future Leaders Program and on the editorial board for Gastro Hep Advances. Dr. Pfeil has 30 years of experience in medical education, leading medical students, residents and fellow education.

Her educational research interests include professional development, training and assessment methods, and virtual education. 

Read her bio from The Ohio State University.

Pending approval by the voting membership, all board members begin their terms after DDW 2022. The voting membership will be sent a ballot to approve the slate of councillors on or before March 28, 2022, with a response date of no later than April 29, 2022. Results will be announced at the AGA Annual Business Meeting on June 1, 2022.

Thank you to our nominating committee members:

  • M. Bishr Omary MD, PhD, AGAF (chair)
  • John Inadomi, MD, AGAF (chair-elect)
  • Miguel H. Malespin, MD
  • Kelley Yan, MD, PhD
  • Jennifer Michelle Weiss, MD, MS, AGAF
  • Cynthia W. Ko, MD, MS
  • Sarah E. Streett, MD, AGAF
  • Michelle K. Kim, MD, PhD, AGAF
  • Christopher E. Forsmark, MD, AGAF
  • Lea Ann Chen, MD, AGAF
  • John W. Garrett, MD, MS, AGAF
  • J. Sumner Bell, III, MD, AGAF

AGA clinical guidance

Find the latest evidence-based recommendations for treating your patients.