AGA Family of Websites:

2020 recognition awards call for nominations

What does it take to deserve recognition in the field of gastroenterology? Being an exceptional mentor, an investigator who has made major contributions to advance care or perhaps a clinician who exemplifies leadership.

Each year, AGA honors members for their outstanding contributions. Nominations are now being accepted for AGA’s prestigious Recognition Prizes and the AGA Institute Council Section Research Mentor Award.

The deadline to submit nominations is 5 p.m. EDT on Sept. 6, 2019. Recipients will be recognized during Digestive Disease Week® 2020.

AGA Institute Council Section Research Mentor Award (RMA)

Awarded within each of the 13 AGA Institute Council sections, the RMA acknowledges AGA members for their achievements as outstanding mentors in a specific area of research. Both clinical and basic research mentors are accepted, though the Neurogastroenterology & Motility section will be looking specifically for a clinical  research mentor this year. 

Looking for candidate suggestions? Consult the list of previous AGA Institute Council leaders who are eligible for an RMA nomination.

AGA Recognition Prizes

Seven prizes honor clinicians and researchers within AGA membership for their outstanding contributions to the field of gastroenterology. Available prizes range from the Julius Friedenwald Medal for lifetime achievement to the Young Investigator Awards recognizing the next generation of thought leaders in the field. All members are strongly encouraged to submit their colleagues for consideration. To view descriptions and eligibility for each prize, visit the AGA website or nomination form.

Nominees and nominators must be current AGA members. To renew your membership, visit or call AGA Member Relations at 301-941-2651.

AGA clinical guidance

Find the latest evidence-based recommendations for treating your patients.