AGA Family of Websites:

William Beaumont Prize in Gastroenterology

Established in 1976, this recognition prize honors a senior investigator who has made a major contribution that has significantly advanced care of patients with digestive diseases through clinical or translational research. For the purpose of this award, the term gastroenterology encompasses any gastrointestinal discipline, including hepatology. To read about all 2021  AGA recognition prize winners, please read the press release.

Recognition Award nominations are under review. AGA will announce the 2024 recipients by press release in Spring 2024.

Recognition Award nominations are open through Sept. 28, 2023.


Established in 1976, the William Beaumont Prize recognizes an individual who has made a major contribution (a single accomplishment or series of accomplishments) that has significantly advanced the care of patients with digestive diseases through clinical or translational research. Beginning in 2015, the prize has been awarded annually.


  • Nominees must have made major clinical or translational research contributions in digestive disease; however, the nominee need not be gastroenterologists and consideration will be given to scientists and medical professionals from all fields.
  • Nominees must have a current AGA membership.

Selection process

  • The recipient is selected by the AGA Recognition Prizes Panel constituting members of the AGA Diversity Committee, AGA Institute Clinical Guidelines Committee, AGA Institute Education and Training Committee, AGA Institute Practice Management and Economics Committee, and AGA Institute Research Policy Committee.
  • The AGA Governing Board ratifies the recipient.

Nominations are reviewed according to the eligibility criteria listed above and the following review and selection criteria. Nominees:

  • Have made a unique and outstanding contribution(s) of major importance to the field that will lead or has led to important new insights or advances in prevention, diagnosis, management or treatment of digestive disease.
  • Have an impactful body of clinical and/or translational research outputs that have significantly impacted the understanding and/or practice of gastroenterology in relation to patient care.
  • Have demonstrated exemplary service to AGA through service or leadership on AGA committees, journal editorial boards and/or the governing board. Recognition as an AGA Fellow is also considered.
  • Have generously contributed their expertise and leadership to the field, through for example:
    • Peer-review of grants.
    • Service on journal editorial boards.
    • Leadership and/or service on graduate and/or medical school committees.


The recipient will receive a $5,000 monetary prize and is recognized at the AGA Awards Ceremony during Digestive Disease Week®. AGA will reimburse the recipient’s travel expenses and provide hotel accomodations for up to two nights. Travel expenses for one guest are also reimbursed.

Nomination process

All nominations must be submitted online by a primary nominator who is an AGA member. The names of additional AGA members who support the nomination should be listed on the nomination form and included as signatories in the nomination letter.

Complete nomination packages include the following supporting materials, uploaded in PDF format. Please title the files using the nominee’s last name, first initial and the type of file (i.e., DoeJ_Letter.pdf, DoeJ_CV.pdf).

  • A nomination letter, not to exceed three pages, signed by the primary nominator and additional AGA members who support the nomination. If the letter has multiple signatures, additional signature pages beyond the three-page limit are allowed when the letter has multiple signatures.
  • Nominee’s curriculum vitae.

Current members of the AGA Recognition Prizes Panel and AGA Governing Board are prohibited from submitting or supporting nominations.


Please forward all questions about this and other AGA recognition prizes to 301-941-2619 or via email at [email protected].

Recipients (1976-2023)

2023Anil K. Rustgi, MD, AGAF
2022Chung Owyang, MD
2021David Y Graham, MD
2020Dennis Ahnen, MD, AGAF; Peter Kahrilas, MD, AGAF
2019Timothy C. Wang, MD, AGAF
2018Mary K. Estes, PhD, AGAF
2017David Ahlquist, MD
2016Anna S. Lok, MD, AGAF
2015C. Richard Boland, MD, AGAF
2012Richard S. Blumberg, MD, AGAF; Hans Clevers, MD
2009Warren Strober, MD
2006Barry J. Marshall, MD
2000Martin C. Carey; Donald M. Small
1997Bert Vogelstein
1994Daniel W. Bradley; Michael Houghton; Qui-Lim Choo; George C. Kuo
1991Thomas E. Starzl
1988Saul Krugman; Mario Rizzetto; Jesse Summers
1985John G. Forte; George Sachs
1982Morton I. Grossman; Sir James W. Black
1979Bengt Borgstrom; Alan F. Hofmann
1976R.A. Gregory; Viktor Mutt