Research Service Award

Established in 2006, this award recognizes an individual who has significantly advanced gastroenterological science and research through dedicated efforts.

To read about all 2021 AGA recognition prize winners, please read the press release.


Created in 2006, the Research Service Award recognizes an individual who has significantly advanced GI science and research.


Nominees must have dedicated extraordinary effort to advocating for the advancement of gastroenterological science and research. Elected officials and individuals in the public and private sectors are eligible. The prize is reviewed annually; however, it is only presented if a noteworthy individual is nominated. AGA membership is not required of nominees.

Selection process

The recipient will be selected by the AGA Governing Board.


The recipient will be recognized at the AGA Awards Ceremony during Digestive Disease Week®.

Nomination deadline and submission process

Nominations for this recognition prize are restricted to current members of the AGA Governing Board. Additional AGA Governing Board members who support the nomination should co-sign the nomination letter.

The following nomination materials must be emailed to in PDF format. Please title the files using the nominee’s last name, first initial and the type of file (i.e., DoeJ_Letter.pdf, DoeJ_CV.pdf).

  • A nomination letter, not to exceed one page, signed by the primary nominator and all additional supporters. If the letter has multiple signatures, additional signature pages beyond the one-page limit are allowed.
  • Nominee’s curriculum vitae.

Please forward all questions about this and other AGA recognition awards to 301-941-2619 or via email at

Recipients (1976–2022)

2022David Saslowsky, PhD
2021Griffin Rodgers, MD
2020Peter Perrin, PhD
2019Ann G. Zauber, PhD, AGAD
2017Marjorie Merrick
2015Jay H. Hoofnagle, MD
2014Jose Serrano, MD, PhD
2013Stephen P. James, MD
2011James E. Everhart, MD, MPH
2010Michael K. May, PhD
2009Judith M. Podskalny, PhD
2008Mushtaq A. Khan, DVM, PhD
2006Frank A. Hamilton, MD