AGA Family of Websites:

Outstanding Service Award

Established in 1972, this recognition prize honors an individual who has contributed substantially to society’s health and welfare. The prize is only awarded when a noteworthy individual is nominated.

To read about all 2021 AGA recognition prize winners, please read the press release.


Established in 1972, the Outstanding Service Award honors an individual who has contributed significantly to society’s health and welfare.


  • Only members of the AGA Governing Board may nominate individuals for consideration.
  • AGA membership is not required of nominees.

Selection process

  • The recipient is selected by the AGA Recognition Prizes Panel constituting members of the AGA Diversity Committee, AGA Institute Clinical Guidelines Committee, AGA Institute Education and Training Committee, AGA Institute Practice Management and Economics Committee, and AGA Institute Research Policy Committee.
  • The AGA Governing Board ratifies the recipient.

Nominations are reviewed according to the eligibility criteria listed above and the following review and selection criteria. Nominees:

  • Have made impactful contributions in the form of public education, literature, legislation, philanthropy, personal service or another endeavor.


The recipient is recognized at the AGA Awards Ceremony during Digestive Disease Week®.

Nomination process

Only current members of the AGA Governing Board are eligible to submit nominations for this recognition prize. Nomination packages are submitted to AGA award staff via email to [email protected].

Complete nomination packages include the following supporting materials in PDF format. Please title the files using the nominee’s last name, first initial and the type of file (i.e., DoeJ_Letter.pdf, DoeJ_CV.pdf).

  • A nomination letter, not to exceed two pages, signed by the primary nominator and additional AGA Governing Board members who support the nomination. Additional signature pages beyond the two-page limit are allowed when the letter has multiple signatures.
  • Where appropriate, the nominee’s curriculum vitae or a listing of accomplishments relevant to the prize.

Please direct all questions about this and other AGA recognition prizes to 301-941-2619 or via email at [email protected].

Recipients (1972–2022)


Representative Rosa DeLauro (CT-03), Representative Raul Ruiz, MD, MPH, MPP (CA-36)


Shahnaz Sultan, MD, MHSc, AGAF; Osama Altayar, MD; Perica Davitkov, MD; Joseph D. Feurstein, MD; Shazia M. Siddique, MD, MSHP; Yngve T. Falck-Ytter, MD, AGAF; Joseph K. Lim, MD, AGAF


Rob and Cathy Funderburg; Alex and Patty Funderburg; Hugh and Gail Funderburg


Congressman William “Bill” Cassidy, MD


Carla H. Ginsburg, MD, MPH, AGAF


Eli Broad


Ian Taylor, MD, PhD, AGAF


Peter Traber, MD


Tim Lee Carter, MD


Paul G. Rogers