AGA Family of Websites:

Julius Friedenwald Medal

Established in 1941, this recognition prize honors an individual who has contributed significantly to AGA and has made lifelong contributions to the field of gastroenterology. This is the highest honor bestowed upon an AGA member. To read about all 2021 AGA recognition prize winners, please read the press release.

Recognition Award nominations are open through Sept. 28, 2023.

Recognition Award nominations are under review. AGA will announce the 2024 recipients by press release in Spring 2024.


Established in 1941, the Julius Friedenwald Medal recognizes an individual who has made lifelong contributions to the field of gastroenterology.


  • Nominees must have a current AGA membership and are long-standing members and contributors to the organization.
  • The Julius Friedenwald Medal may be given posthumously, provided that the nomination was made during the lifetime of the recipient. A deceased member can only be nominated in the year of their death.

Selection process

  • The recipient is selected by the AGA Recognition Prizes Panel constituting members of the AGA Diversity Committee, AGA Institute Clinical Guidelines Committee, AGA Institute Education and Training Committee, AGA Institute Practice Management and Economics Committee, and AGA Institute Research Policy Committee.
  • The AGA Governing Board ratifies the recipient.

Nominations are reviewed according to the eligibility criteria listed above and the following review and selection criteria. Nominees:

  • Are senior gastroenterologists (inclusive of hepatologists and others in digestive disease medicine) who have spent most of their careers in gastroenterology.
  • Have made notable contributions to the field through their clinical, educational, leadership, mentoring, and/or research activities.
  • Have demonstrated exemplary service to AGA through service or leadership on AGA committees, journal editorial boards and/or the governing board. Recognition as an AGA Fellow is also considered.
  • Maintained an impactful body of research outputs throughout their career and positively influenced the research capacity of their colleagues, mentees and peers.
  • Lead by example in promoting the highest quality research and/or patient care to deliver improved outcomes for patients with digestive diseases.
  • Exhibit leadership, foresight and ethic that have significantly advanced the mission of AGA.
  • Provide inspiration to the broader digestive disease community.


An article highlighting the recipient’s accomplishments is published in the May issue of Gastroenterology. The recipient will receive a $5,000 monetary prize and recognition at the AGA Awards Ceremony during Digestive Disease Week®. AGA will reimburse the recipient’s travel expenses and provide hotel accommodations for up to two nights. Travel expenses for one guest are also reimbursed.

Nomination process

All nominations are submitted online by a primary nominator who is an AGA member. The names of additional AGA members who support the nomination should be listed on the nomination form and included as signatories in the nomination letter.

Complete nomination packages include the following supporting materials uploaded in PDF format. Please title the files using the nominee’s last name, first initial and the type of file (i.e., DoeJ_Letter.pdf, DoeJ_CV.pdf).

  • A nomination letter, not to exceed three pages, signed by the primary nominator and additional AGA members who support the nomination. Additional signature pages beyond the three-page limit are allowed when the letter has multiple signatures.
  • The nominee’s curriculum vitae.

Current members of the AGA Recognition Prizes Panel and AGA Governing Board are prohibited from submitting or supporting nominations.


Please forward all questions about this and other AGA recognition prizes to 301-941-2619 or via email at [email protected].

Recipients (1941-2024)

2024 Bishr Omary, MD, PhD
2023 Sheila E. Crowe, MD, AGAF
2022 Timothy Wang, MD, AGAF
2021 Michael Camilleri, MD, AGAF
2020 Gail Hecht, MD, MS, AGAF
2019 John I. Allen, MD, MBA, AGAF
2018 Loren A. Laine, MD, AGAF
2017 Anil K. Rustgi, MD, AGAF
2016 C. Richard Boland, MD, AGAF
2015 Robert S. Sandler
2014 Nicholas F. LaRusso
2013 Chung Owyang
2012 Emmet B. Keeffe (Posthumous)
2011 David Peura
2010 Donald O. Castell
2009 Daniel K. Podolsky
2008 Martin Brotman
2007 James W. Freston
2006 Norton J. Greenberger
2005 Ralph A. Giannella
2004 Jon I. Isenberg
2003 Tadataka Yamada
2002 Sidney Cohen
2001 Don W. Powell
2000 Howard M. Spiro
1999 Jerry S. Trier
1998 Eugene D. Jacobson
1997 David H. Alpers
1996 William Silen
1995 John T. Farrar
1994 Alan F. Hofmann
1993 John S. Fordtran
1992 Basil I. Hirschowitz
1991 Cyrus E. Rubin
1990 Rudi Schmid
1989 Marvin H. Sleisenger
1988 Frank P. Brooks
1987 Robert M. Donaldson, Jr.
1986 Fred Kern, Jr.
1985 Kurt J. Isselbacher
1984 Henry D. Janowitz
1983 Gerald Klatskin

1982 Thomas C. Chalmers
1981 Wade Volwiler
1980 Horace W. Davenport
1979 Hugh R. Butt
1978 Morton I. Grossman
1977 Charles J. Best
1976 Thomas P. Almy
1975 Joseph B. Kirsner
1974 Charles F. Code
1973 Leon Schiff
1972 J. Earl Thomas
1971 Hans Popper
1970 Andrew C. Ivey
1969 Franz J. Ingelfinger
1968 Julian M. Ruffin
1967 J. Arnold Bargen
1966 Dwight L. Wilbur
1965 Franklin Hollander
1964 Lester R. Dragstedt
1963 Walter L. Palmar
1962 Henry L. Bockus
1961 Jesse L. Bollman
1960 Chester M. Jones
1959 Russel S. Boles, Sr.
1958 A.H. Aaron
1957 T. Grier Miller
1956 Donald C. Balfour
1955 Frank Charles Mann
1954 Albert F.R. Andressen
1953 Burrill B. Crohn
1952 Sara M. Jordan
1951 Walter C. Alvarez
1950 B.B. Vincent Lyon
1949 Boris B. Babkin
1948 Franklin W. White
1947 George B. Eusterman
1946 Frank H. Lahey
1945 Lewis Gregory Cole
1944 A.J. Carlson
1943 Thomas R. Brown
1942 Max Einhorn
1941 Walter B. Cannon