AGA Family of Websites:

Distinguished Educator Award

Established in 1987, this recognition prize honors an individual for achievements as an outstanding educator over a lifelong career. To read about all 2021  AGA recognition prize winners, please read the press release


Recognition Award nominations are under review. AGA will announce the 2024 recipients by press release in Spring 2024.

Recognition Award nominations are open through Sept. 28, 2023.


Established in 1987, the Distinguished Educator Award honors an individual for achievements as an outstanding educator.


  • Nominees have committed a substantial portion of their career to the education and training of medical students, medical residents, clinical fellows, other trainees, and/or other specialists in digestive disease. These may be clinical or nonclinical (i.e., researcher) learners.
  • Nominees must have a current AGA membership.

Selection process

  • The recipient is selected by the AGA Recognition Prizes Panel constituting members of the AGA Diversity Committee, AGA Institute Clinical Guidelines Committee, AGA Institute Education and Training Committee, AGA Institute Practice Management and Economics Committee, and AGA Institute Research Policy Committee.
  • The AGA Governing Board ratifies the recipient

Nominations are reviewed according to the eligibility criteria listed above and the following review and selection criteria. Nominees:

  • Have a long record of major contributions to digestive disease education on both local and national levels.
  • Contributions should include long-term dedication and measurable impact to training fellows, publishing educational documents and/or teaching seminars and classes. Leadership impact in education is also considered.
  • Have demonstrated exemplary service to AGA’s educational mission and through service or leadership on AGA committees, journal editorial boards, the governing board and/or contributions to AGA postgraduate educational offerings. Recognition as an AGA Fellow is also considered.
  • With this prize, AGA especially seeks to recognize those who have contributed substantially to the ongoing education of gastroenterologists through AGA’s work on the Digestive Diseases Self-Education Program (DDSEP), Gastroenterology Training Examination, Postgraduate Course, Future Leaders Program, Academic Skills Workshop, and all of AGA’s education and training offerings.
  • Have contributed substantially to educating digestive disease specialists outside of AGA through, for example:
    • The formulation of and/or writings on broad educational policy in the field.
    • The establishment of innovative educational programs that have served as models elsewhere.
    • Contributions to the literature, including:
      • Extensively quoted review articles and editorials.
      • Textbooks or textbook chapters relevant to the field.
      • Other forms of enduring materials (e.g., slides).

Current members of the AGA Recognition Prizes Panel and AGA Governing Board are prohibited from submitting or supporting nominations.


The recipient is recognized at the AGA Awards Ceremony during Digestive Disease Week®.

Nomination process

All nominations are submitted online by a primary nominator who is an AGA member. The names of additional AGA members who support the nomination should be listed on the nomination form.

Complete nomination packages include the following supporting materials, uploaded in PDF format. Please title the files using the nominee’s last name, first initial and the type of file (i.e., DoeJ_Letter.pdf, DoeJ_CV.pdf).

  • A nomination letter, not to exceed three pages, signed by the primary nominator and additional AGA members who support the nomination. Additional signature pages beyond the three-page limit are allowed when the letter has multiple signatures.
  • Nominee’s curriculum vitae.

Current members of the AGA Recognition Prizes Panel and AGA Governing Board are prohibited from submitting or supporting nominations.


Please direct all questions about this and other AGA recognition prizes to 301-941-2619 or via email at [email protected].

Recipients (1987-2023)

2023 Prateek Sharma, MD
2022 Duvur Reddy, MD
2021 Lin Chang, MD, AGAF
2020 Robert Fontana, MD
2019 Deborah D. Proctor, MD, AGAF
2018 James D. Lewis, MD, MSCE, AGAF
2017 Hari Conjeevaram, MD, MS
2016 David A. Johnson, MD; Suzanne Rose, MD, MSEd, AGAF
2015 Patrick S. Kamath, MD; C. Melbern Wilcox, MD, MSPH
2014 Joseph C. Kolars, MD, AGAF; Nicholas J. Talley, MD, PhD, AGAF
2013 Sheila E. Crowe, MD, AGAF; Douglas K. Rex, MD, AGAF
2012 John Del Valle, MD, AGAF
2011 Helen M. Shields, MD, AGAF
2010 Lawrence S. Friedman, MD, AGAF
2009 William F. Balistreri, MD
2008 Francis M. Giardiello, MD
2007 Satish S. C. Rao, MD, PhD, FRCP
2006 Ray E. Clouse, MD
2005 John P. Cello, MD
2004 Douglas A. Drossman, MD
2003 Sanjiv Chopra, MD
2002 David A. Peura, MD
2001 Donald O. Castell, MD
2000 Peter A. Banks, MD
1999 Joseph B. Kirsner, MD, PhD
1998 Willis C. Maddrey, MD
1997 Edward W. Moore, MD
1996 David B. Sachar, MD
1995 Norton J. Greenberger, MD
1994 Marvin H. Sleisenger, MD
1991 John S. Fordtran, MD
1990 Hyman J. Zimmerman, MD
1989 Howard Spiro, MD
1987 Theodore M. Bayless, MD