Distinguished Clinician Awards

Established in 1996, this recognition prize honors members of the practice community who, by example, combine the art of medicine with the skills demanded by the scientific body of knowledge in service to patients. Two individuals are recognized each year: one in private practice and one in clinical academic practice. To read about all 2021  AGA recognition prize winners, please read the press release.

Nominations are closed for the year. We will announce the 2023 recipients in January.

Recognition Award nominations are open through Aug. 23, 2022.


Created in 1995, the Distinguished Clinician Awards recognize two members of the practicing community who combine the art of medicine with the skills demanded by the scientific body of knowledge in service to their patients. One prize is awarded to an individual in private practice, and the other to an individual in an academic setting.


Nominees must be current AGA members and have demonstrated exemplary service to the AGA, such as committee service and/or AGA fellowship. Candidates for this prize will be clinicians in private practice or academic settings who have exemplified leadership and excellence in the practice of gastroenterology and whose time is spent primarily in the delivery of patient care.

Selection process

The recipients will be selected by an independent panel of AGA members. The following criteria are considered during the selection of recipients; however, review committees may consider other criteria as needed and based on a candidate’s strengths or accomplishments:

  1. Degree to which the candidate has directly impacted and enhanced patient care.
  2. Degree to which the candidate has demonstrated leadership in national, regional or local organizations.
  3. Development of patient-centered educational programs by the candidate that demonstrate excellence in education.
  4. Development of clinical programs by the candidate.
  5. The candidate’s national or regional reputation for excellence in clinical care.
  6. The candidate’s impact on the mentorship and development of other clinicians.
  7. The candidate’s record of service to AGA.


The recipients are recognized at the AGA Awards Ceremony during Digestive Disease Week®.

Nomination and submission process

All nominations must be submitted online by a primary nominator who is an AGA member. The names of additional AGA members who support the nomination should be listed on the nomination form.

The following supporting materials must be uploaded with the nomination form in PDF format. Please title the files using the nominee’s last name, first initial and the type of file (i.e., DoeJ_Letter.pdf, DoeJ_CV.pdf).

  • A nomination letter, not to exceed two pages, signed by the primary nominator and additional AGA members who support the nomination. If the letter has multiple signatures, additional signature pages beyond the two-page limit are allowed.
  • Nominee’s curriculum vitae.

Please forward all questions about this and other AGA recognition prizes to 301-941-2619 or via email at awards@gastro.org.

Recipients (1996–2022)

2022 Peter Higgins, MD; George Triadafilopoulos, MD, AGAF, FASGE, AGAF, FACG, FACP, DSc
2021 Peter H. R. Green, MD; Nimish B. Vakil, MD, AGAF, FASGE
2020 Kimberly Persley, MD, AGAF; Gary Lichtenstein, MD, AGAF
2019 Naresh T. Gunaratnam, MD, AGAF; Edward V. Loftus Jr., MD, AGAF
2018 Bertha (Nice’) E. Toriz, MD; Michael L. Kochman, MD, AGAF
2017 Steven Burdick, MD; David Metz, MD, AGAF
2016 Robert S. Bartolomeo, MD, AGAF; Kim L. Isaacs, MD, PhD, AGAF
2015 William D. Chey, MD, AGAF; Louis Y. Korman, MD
2014 Howard L. Taubin, MD; Gary W. Falk, MD, MS, AGAF
2013 Grace H. Elta, MD, AGAF; Lawrence R. Schiller, MD
2012 John I. Allen, MD, MBA, AGAF; Timothy T. Nostrant, MD, AGAF
2011 Ioannis C. Danielides, MD; William J. Tremaine, MD, AGAF
2010 David A. Katzka, MD; James F. Martin, MD, AGAF
2009 Damian H. Augustyn, MD, AGAF; Lin Chang, MD, AGAF; Robert M. Craig, MD; Stephen Goldfinger, MD
2008 Charles J. Lightdale, MD, AGAF; Ronald J. Vender, MD, AGAF
2007 Carla H. Ginsburg, MD; Albert J. Czaja, MD
2006 Alroy A. Chow, MD; Kenneth R. McQuaid, MD
2005 Simmy Bank, MD; George F. Longstreth, MD
2004 James E. Allison, MD; Theodore M. Bayless, MD; John H. Bond, Jr., MD; Cecil H. Chally, MD; William Y. Chey, MD; Julius J. Deren, MD; Thomas D. McCaffery, Jr., MD; Richard E. Sampliner, MD
2003 Atila Ertan, MD; Joseph F. Fitzgerald, MD; John C. Fletcher, MD; Michael R. Fogel, MD; Stanley B. Goldberg, MD; Paul A. Kantrowitz, MD; Mark A. Peppercorn, MD; Satish S. C. Rao, MD; Caroline A. Riely, MD; Charles S. Winans, MD.
2002 Marshall S. Bedine, MD, LLC; Ira S. Goldman, MD; Martin L. Greene, MD; John C. McKechnie, MD
2001 Richard R. Babb, MD; Charles M. Bliss, MD; Stuart H. Danovitch, MD
2000 Eugene M. Bozymski, MD; Douglas McGill, MD; Bergein Overholt, MD; John Singleton, MD; Frank Troncale, MD, MS
1999 James J. Cerda, MD; Joseph E. Geenen, MD; Stanley S. Shimoda, MD; Walter R. Thayer, Jr., MD; Alvin M. Zfass, MD
1998 Edgar Achkar, MD; James L. Borland, Jr., MD; Horacio H. Jinich, MD; Burton I. Korelitz, MD; Robert H. Schapiro, MD
1997 Alan J. Cameron, MD; Harvey J. Dworken, MD; L. Frederick Fenster, MD; David E. Langdon, MD; Joseph G. Sweeting, MD
1996 Arnold P. Kaplan, MD; C. Michael Knauer, MD; Daniel E. Polter, MD; Daniel H. Present, MD; Burton A. Shatz, MD