AGA Center for Gut Microbiome Research & Education

The AGA Center for Gut Microbiome Research and Education is your virtual “home” for AGA activities, research, news and policy updates related to the gut microbiome, one of the most exciting and promising areas of science today.

Major Programs

Our quarterly e-newsletter features articles on hot topics in gut microbiome research and practice and highlights the latest microbiome education, publications and resources.
What we know about COVID-19 and the gut microbiome, coronavirus 101 for gastroenterologists and more.
The future of prebiotics, DDW microbiome programming and more.
What’s new with the liver and the microbiome, CME opportunity and more.
Reality check on microbiome science, diet vs. prebiotics education, and more in this issue of AGA Microbiome Update.
Highlights from the 2019 Gut Microbiota for Health World Summit, spotlight on Dr. Rohit Loomba’s microbiome research, and more in this issue of AGA Microbiome Update.

Industry Partners

For industries working in the microbiome space, the center can work with you to evaluate your product and help bring it to market.

Geoffrey Preidis, MD, PhD, speaks to CNN about AGA’s new clinical practice guidelines on probiotics for the management of GI diseases.
Alexander Khoruts, MD, provides perspective on AGA’s new clinical practice guidelines on probiotics.
Rob Knight, PhD, provides a new understanding of the way microbial populations shift with cancer could open a completely new therapeutic avenue.

Scientific Advisory Board

The mission of the AGA Center for Gut Microbiome Research and Education is to advance research and education on the gut microbiome with the goal of improving human health. To provide guidance on gut microbiome-related issues, AGA has convened a scientific advisory board comprised of world leaders in computational biology and metagenomics, microbiome animal models, microbiology translational research, nutrition, and pertinent regulatory and policy issues. 

Phillip Tarr Headshot

Phillip I. Tarr, MD (Chair)

Headshot of Chang Eugene

Eugene B. Chang, MD, AGAF (Past-Chair)

Headshot of Britton Robert

Robert A. Britton, PhD

Headshot of Preidis

Geoffrey Preidis, MD, PhD

Headshot of Diane Hoffman

Diane Hoffman, JD, MS

Default Avatar Icon

Vanessa A. Leone, PhD

Default Avatar Icon

Rohit Loomba, MD

Default Avatar Icon

Ryan Ranallo, PhD

Default Avatar Icon

Alejandro Reyes, PhD

Default Avatar Icon

Siew Chien Ng, MD, PhD, AGAF

Default Avatar Icon

Elena F. Verdu, MD, PhD

Headshot of Zhao Liping

Liping Zhao, PhD

Davidson, Nicholas Headshot

Nicholas Davidson, MD, DSc, AGAF (Governing Board Liaison)