AGA Family of Websites:
AGA Journals
AGA Journals
AGA University
AGA University
AGA University
AGA Research Foundation
AGA University
AGA Community
AGA University
AGA Job Board
Cropped shot of audience members making notes on their notepads at a conference
February 20, 2019

Introducing the AGA Future Leaders class of 2020

AGA has announced the 18 early career physicians and scientists selected to participate in its flagship leadership development program.
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Bethesda, MD (Feb. 20, 2019) — The American Gastroenterological Association (AGA) has announced the third class of its Future Leaders Program, which was created in 2015 to provide a pathway for leadership development within AGA for early career physicians and scientists who have the potential to make a significant impact on the specialty. These 18 participants will embark on an 18 month-long program designed to develop the leadership skills necessary to become future leaders in the AGA, at their home institutions, and within the field of digestive diseases.

“The 2020 class of AGA Future Leaders represents the next generation of leaders in our field,” said Darrell S. Pardi, MD, MSc, AGAF, co-program chair for the AGA Future Leaders Program. “Along with my co-chair, Sheryl Pfeil, MD, AGAF, and the esteemed mentors and faculty participating in this program, we look forward to cultivating these rising stars who stand out for their current achievements, commitment to advancing the field, and potential for future success.”

Class of 2020 Future Leaders

  • Christen Klochan Dilly, MD, MEHP, Indiana University School of Medicine and Roudebush VA Medical Center
  • Daniel Freedberg, MD, MS, Columbia University
  • Wendy A. Henderson, PhD, National Institutes of Health
  • Ruben Hernaez, MD, MPH, PhD, Baylor College of Medicine and Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center
  • Animesh Jain, MD, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Avinash Ketwaroo, MD, Baylor College of Medicine and Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center
  • Bharati Kochar, MD, MSCR, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • David Leiman, MD, MSHP, Duke University Medical Center
  • James Lin, MD, City of Hope National Medical Center in Duarte
  • Michelle Long, MD, Boston Medical Center
  • Aimee Lucas, MD, MS, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
  • Miguel Malespin, MD, Tampa General Hospital
  • Simon C. Mathews, MD, Johns Hopkins Medicine
  • Karthik Ravi, MD, Mayo Clinic at Rochester
  • Florian Rieder, MD, Cleveland Clinic Foundation
  • Kyle Staller, MD, MPH, Harvard Medical School
  • Christina Twyman-Saint Victor, MD, University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine
  • Ryan Ungaro, MD, MS, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

The AGA Future Leaders Program will kick off with the AGA Leadership Development Conference March 8-10, 2019, at the Hilton Rockville Executive conference center in Rockville, Maryland, and will continue through Digestive Disease Week® (DDW) 2020 in Chicago, Illinois. Throughout the course of the program, participants will work closely with AGA mentors on projects linked to AGA’s Strategic Plan.

Learn more about the AGA Future Leaders program.


Media contact: Rachel Shubert,, 301-272-1603

About the AGA Institute

The American Gastroenterological Association is the trusted voice of the GI community. Founded in 1897, AGA has grown to more than 16,000 members from around the globe who are involved in all aspects of the science, practice and advancement of gastroenterology. The AGA Institute administers the practice, research and educational programs of the organization.

Like AGA on Facebook.
Follow us on Twitter @AmerGastroAssn
Check out our videos on YouTube.
Join AGA on LinkedIn.

Discussion Icon

Discuss this news

Share this article in the AGA Community, your member-only platform for sharing your thoughts and ideas with your colleagues.

Not a member? Join AGA.

By using this site, you agree to our updated Privacy Policy.