AGA Family of Websites:

Introducing our 2024 AGA Council chair and section leaders

Meet the 9 individuals elected to join the AGA Institute Council and lead specialty-based sections.
2024 AGA Council leaders
2024 AGA Council leaders

Meet our new chair

Picture of Douglas J. Robertson, MD, MPH, AGAF

Douglas J. Robertson, MD, MPH, AGAF

AGA Institute Council Chair
VA Medical Center, White River Junction & Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth

“For me, Digestive Disease Week® (DDW) is about connection. Connection to the newest developments in the fields of gastroenterology, hepatology and gastrointestinal endoscopy. It is also about connection to the best science that underpins developments in those fields. Finally, it is about connection to colleagues across the globe that work in the clinic, classroom, and laboratory to either prevent GI disease or improve the care of those afflicted with it. My goal, as AGA Institute Council Chair, is to support that process of meaningfully connecting each attendee to the meeting. Working with our outstanding AGA council members, we will create a scientific agenda that presents the best science in our field in an approachable way and within an environment that invigorates.” 

Dr. Robertson will serve as council chair for three years (May 2024-May 2027; DDW 2025, 2026 and 2027). 

Section leadership

We are pleased to announce the results of the elections held recently by the AGA Institute Council, the driving force behind AGA’s programming at DDW.

We welcome nine members into their new roles as section vice chairs, joining the existing 17 Council members.

Each new vice chair will serve a two-year term that begins immediately following this year’s DDW meeting and extends through DDW 2026. Following their term as vice chair, they will move into the role of section chair for an additional two years through DDW 2028.  

We are also pleased to announce the members joining nominating committees during the 2026 nomination/election cycle. The chairs of the nominating committee will be the immediate past section chairs, whom we also recognize and thank for their service and dedication to the section and the council. 


Picture of Uma Sundaram, MD

Uma Sundaram, MD

Vice Chair
Marshall University School of Medicine

Nominating committee members

  • Colleen Renee Kelly, MD, AGAF, Chair 
  • Amy Engevik, PhD, Medical University of South Carolina  
  • Ravinder Gill, PhD, University of Illinois at Chicago  
  • Madhusudan Grover, MD, Mayo Clinic  
  • Lisa Strate, MD, Harborview Medical Center  


Picture of Linda Anh Nguyen, MD

Linda Anh Nguyen, MD

Vice Chair
Stanford University School of Medicine

Nominating committee members

  • Gary W. Falk, MD, MS, AGAF, Chair 
  • Megan Adams, MD, JD, MSc, VA Ann Arbor Healthcare System Endoscopy Unit  
  • Mohammad Bilal, MD, Minneapolis VA Health Care System  
  • Carolyn Newberry, MD, Weill Cornell Medical Center  
  • Adam Weizman, MD, MSc, Mount Sinai Hospital  


Picture of Vivek Kaul, MD, AGAF

Vivek Kaul, MD, AGAF

Vice Chair
University of Rochester Medical Center

Nominating committee members

  • Irving Waxman, MD, Chair 
  • Sushovan Guha, MD, PhD, University of Texas at Houston  
  • Pichamol Jirapinyo, MD, MPH, Brigham and Women’s Hospital  
  • Vladimir Kushnir, MD, Washington University St Louis Barnes Jewish Hospital  
  • Andrew Storm, MD, Mayo Clinic 


Picture of Florian Rieder, MD

Florian Rieder, MD

Vice Chair
Cleveland Clinic Foundation

Nominating committee members

  • Fernando S. Velayos, MD, AGAF, Chair 
  • Brigid Boland, MD, University of California, San Diego  
  • Karen Edelblum, PhD, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai  
  • Michael Kattah, MD, PhD, UCSF Gastroenterology  
  • Andres Yarur, MD, Cedars Sinai Medical Center 


Picture of Don Rockey, MD

Don Rockey, MD

Vice Chair
Medical University of South Carolina

Nominating committee members

  • Gyongyi Szabo, MD, PhD, AGAF, Chair 
  • Brett Fortune, MD, MSc, Montefiore Medical Center  
  • Ruben Hernaez, MD, MPH, PhD, Baylor College of Medicine  
  • Cynthia Moylan, MD, MHS, MS, Duke University  
  • Douglas Simonetto, MD, Mayo Clinic Rochester  


Picture of Jessica Allegretti, MD, MPH

Jessica Allegretti, MD, MPH

Vice Chair
Brigham and Women's Hospital

Nominating committee members

  • Purna Kashyap, MBBS, AGAF, Chair 
  • Melinda Engevik, PhD, Medical University of South Carolina  
  • Christian Jobin, PhD, University of Florida  
  • Vanessa Leone, PhD, The University of Wisconsin-Madison  
  • Jun Yu, MD, PhD, The Chinese University of Hong Kong  


Picture of Berkeley Limketkai, MD, PhD

Berkeley Limketkai, MD, PhD

Vice Chair
University of California Los Angeles

Nominating committee members

  • Andres Jose Acosta, MD, PhD, Chair 
  • Barham Abu Dayyeh, MD, MPH, Mayo Clinic  
  • Alan Buchman, MD, MSPH, University of Illinois at Chicago  
  • Octavia Pickett-Blakely, MD, MHS, Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania  
  • Robert Shulman, MD, Texas Children’s Hospital, Baylor College of Medicine


Picture of Kelli VanDussen, PhD

Kelli VanDussen, PhD

Vice Chair
Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center 

For more information about these and the 13 sections and for information about how to get involved or submit recommendations, please visit Council & Sections. 

AGA scientific programming at DDW is developed by
AGA Institute Council

AGA clinical guidance

Find the latest evidence-based recommendations for treating your patients.