AGA Family of Websites:

Congratulations to our AGA Future Leader and FORWARD Scholar grads!

Participants had a great time catching up and celebrating their program commencements at DDW 2023.
2021-23 Future Leaders at DDW
2021-23 Future Leaders at DDW

AGA was thrilled to celebrate the commencement of our newest cohorts of the AGA Future Leaders and FORWARD Scholars programs during Digestive Disease Week® (DDW). Participants gathered during the conference for a special graduation ceremony, which included a speech from a keynote speaker and recognition gifts.


2021-23 FORWARD Scholars at DDW

The FORWARD Program focuses on fostering opportunities resulting in workforce and research diversity. FORWARD is an NIH (NIDDK) funded initiative that supports physician-scientists from underrepresented populations to increase academic development through grant and manuscript writing skills training and managing laboratory research groups, leadership development training, and mentorship to advance academic careers and careers within the AGA.

  • Muyiwa Awoniyi, MD, PhD, Cleveland Clinic
  • Bubu Banini, MD, PhD, Yale University
  • Manuel Braga Neto, MD, PhD, Cleveland Clinic
  • Jihane Benhammou, MD, PhD, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Cassandra Fritz, MD, Washington University/B-JH/SLCH Consortium
  • Joel Gabre, MD, Columbia University
  • Rachel Issaka, MD, MAS, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center/University of Washington
  • Jeremy Louissaint, MD, University of Texas Southwestern
  • Vivian Ortiz, MD, Mayo Clinic
  • Nicolette Rodriguez, MD, MPH, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Harvard Medical School
FORWARD Scholars headshots

AGA Future Leaders

2021-23 Future Leaders at DDW

The AGA Future Leaders Program provides a pathway within the AGA for members who want to network with peers, connect with mentors, enhance their leadership skills while learning about AGA’s governance and operations, advance careers, and support their specialties. Congratulations to the 2021-23 class on graduating!

  • Jordan Axelrad, MD, MPH, New York University Grossman School of Medicine
  • Edward L. Barnes, MD, MPH, University of North Carolina Chapel Hill
  • Elisa Katherine Boden, MD, Oregon Health and Sciences University
  • Parakkal Deepak, MBBS, MS, FACG, Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine
  • Renumathy Dhanasekaran, MD, Stanford University
  • Luke J. Engelking, MD, PhD, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
  • Phil Hart, MD, The Ohio State University
  • Patrick Hickey, DO, Lehigh Valley Health Network
  • Maia Kayal, MD, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
  • Leila Kia, MD, Northwestern University
  • Joanna Melia, MD, John Hopkins School of Medicine
  • Amit Patel, MD, Duke University School of Medicine
  • Sonali Paul, MD, MS, University of Chicago Medicine
  • Nicole Rich, MD, MSCS, UT Southwestern Medical Center
  • Shazia Siddique, MD, MSHP, University of Pennsylvania
  • Pooja Singhal, MD, FACG, DABOM, SSM Health St. Anthony Hospital
  • Matthew Whitson, MD, MSEd, Hofstra-Northwell
  • Kelley Yan, MD, PhD, Columbia University Medical Center
AGA Future Leaders 2023
AGA Future Leaders 2023

AGA clinical guidance

Find the latest evidence-based recommendations for treating your patients.