Women's Leadership Conference

Empower your career and refine your skills with guidance from other GI women leaders. 

Leadership development uniquely designed for the women of AGA

Since 2014, the Women’s Leadership Conference has brought together women from varying work settings to develop and leverage the skills of both early career and accomplished women in GI. The exclusive event for the women of AGA is an empowering experience that will help you grow professionally, personally and maximize your impact in the field along the way.

Registration for the next conference opens in 2022.

Registration is now open for the 2021 Women’s Leadership Conference

March 5 and 6, 2021

The 2021 Women’s Leadership Conference is an exclusive event for the early career and accomplished women of AGA, bringing together distinguished women in GI and renowned experts to equip and inspire you on your leadership journey. New and past attendees can expect an empowering experience that will help you grow professionally, personally and maximize your impact in the field.

Registration is open to women physicians, surgeons, or scientists holding an MD, PhD, and/or equivalent degree (e.g., DvM, DO, MBBS, etc.) who have completed clinical training (GI fellowship or its equivalent) and are AGA members.

Registration closes Feb. 26.

The application window has closed and the participants for the 2019 event have been chosen. The Women’s Leadership Conference is an invite-only event.  

Program schedule

Program Chairs


Sharmila Anandasabapathy, MD, AGAF

Professor of Medicine; Director, Baylor Global Health; Vice President
Baylor College of Medicine


Monina F. Pascua, MD, PharmD, MSCE

Endoscopy Medical Director
The Oregon Clinic – Gastroenterology South
Chair, AGA Women’s Leadership Council

Early career

  • Ghadah Al Ismail, MD
  • Shazia Ali, MD
  • Elizabeth Blaney, MD
  • Blaire Burman, MD
  • Alexis Calloway, MD
  • Alejandra Castillo-Roth, MD
  • Joan Chen, MD
  • Suma Chennubhotla, MD
  • Reezwana Chowdhury, MD
  • Nayantara Coelho-Prabhu, MD
  • Kathleen Corey, MD
  • Robin Dalal, MD
  • Amy Engevik, PhD
  • Melinda Engevik, PhD
  • Julia Ganz, PhD
  • Aparna Goel, MD
  • Alison Goldin, MD
  • Edith Ho, MD
  • Jennifer Horsley-Silva, MD
  • Jennifer Maratt, MD
  • Fazia Mir, MD
  • Michelle Nazareth, MD
  • Camilla Richmond, MD
  • Shailja Shah, MD
  • Richa Shukla, MD
  • Kelly Whelan, MD
  • Victoria Yung, MD


  • Sarah Canavan, MD
  • Aline Charabaty Pishvaian, MD
  • Cuckoo Choudhary, MD
  • Lucinda Harris, MD, AGAF
  • Dominique Howard, MD
  • Mary Ann Huang, MD
  • Michelle Kim, MD, PhD, AGAF
  • Iona Monteiro, MD
  • Swati Pawa, MD, FASGE
  • Lesley Smith, MBA, MD
  • Laura Targownik, MD